CCLL: A History of Leadership and Success in DC Little League Baseball

Champs both flags

Capitol City Little League is the District of Columbia’s oldest and most decorated Little League!

The District had sent teams to the Maryland state tournament throughout the 1970s and into the early 1980s. But all of that era's leagues eventually folded. When Capitol City Little League formed and was chartered in 1986, this marked a rebirth for Little League Baseball in the District. Other leagues soon followed.

Washington D.C.'s leagues meet in a double-elimination or round robin tournament to determine the District's champion. The D.C. Majors division champion advances to the Mid-Atlantic Region tournament in Bristol, Connecticut, and competes against winners from five neighboring states for the right to advance to the Little League World Series in South Williamsport, Pennsylvania.

Capitol City achieved the District's deepest run in the international tournament when they finished third in the 2016 Mid-Atlantic Region tournament. No District of Columbia league has ever reached the Little League World Series.

In addition, Capitol City Little League has twice reached the semifinal round in a region tournament, losing in extra innings to eventual region champion Toms River East American Little League (New Jersey) in the 1999 Eastern Region tournament and dropping a one-run decision to eventual Little League World Series qualifier South Caroline Little League (Preston, Maryland) in the 2004 Mid-Atlantic Region tournament.

h/t to Unpage Publications for keeping this great historical information and tournament results!

Capitol City Little League Majors Division Championships since 2000

Year Result
2021 Capitol City 4, Capitol Hill 0
2016 Capitol City 17, Northwest Washington 5 (4 innings)
2015 Capitol City 7, Capitol Hill Washington 2
2013 Capitol City 7, Northwest Washington 1
2010 Capitol City 10, Northwest Washington1
2008 Capitol City 14, Northwest Washington 7
2007 Capitol City 9, Northwest Washington 3
2006 Capitol City 10, Capital 0 (5 innings)
2004 Capitol City 10, Satchel Paige 0 (4 innings)
2003 Capitol City 16, Senators 0 (4 innings)
2002 Capitol City 8, Northwest Washington 0
2001 Capitol City 6, Northwest Washington 0
2000 Capitol City 19, Satchel Paige 0 (4 innings)